HomeDanceThe Dance Information You Would possibly Have Missed in July 2022

The Dance Information You Would possibly Have Missed in July 2022

Listed below are the most recent promotions, appointments and departures, in addition to notable awards and accomplishments, from July 2022.

Comings & Goings

Daniel Camargo balances in back attitude croisé, chin upraised, his upstage arm extended high overhead, the other to the side. He wears a costume of white tights and ballet shoes, and a green, long-sleeved tunic with puffy white accents at the elbows and shoulders. The backdrop is of a shadowy wood.
Daniel Camargo in Swan Lake. Photograph by Rosalie O’Connor, courtesy ABT.

At American Ballet Theatre, Catherine Hurlin and Roman Zhurbin have been promoted to principal, Breanne Granlund, Sung Woo Han, Betsy McBride, Chloe Misseldine and SunMi Park to soloist. Daniel Camargo has joined as a principal. These appointments go into impact on September 1.

Yuliia Moskalenko has joined Miami Metropolis Ballet as a principal.

At Oklahoma Metropolis Ballet, Autumn Klein has been promoted to principal, and Benjamin Tucker has been named principal character artist and affiliate rehearsal director. Roylan Ramos Hechavarria has joined as a principal.

Carly Wheaton has joined Oregon Ballet Theatre as a soloist.

At Birmingham Royal Ballet, Yaoqian Shang and Miki Mizutani have been promoted to principal, Beatrice Parma, Yu Kurihara, Max Maslen and Lachlan Monaghan to first soloist. Riku Ito has joined from Northern Ballet as a soloist.

At The Royal Ballet, Joseph Sissens has been promoted to first soloist, Annette Buvoli, Ashley Dean, Leticia Dias, Mariko Sasaki, Lukas B. Brændsrød, Leo Dixon, David Donnelly and Téo Dubreuil to soloist. Soloist Paul Kay has retired to develop into inventive supervisor for intensive programs and auditions at The Royal Ballet College. Lesley Collier has retired from her place as répétiteur to the principal artists. Senior producer Amanda Skoog has departed to hitch English Nationwide Ballet College as its government director.

At La Scala Ballet, Alice Mariani has been promoted to principal, Gaia Andreanò and Camilla Cerulli to soloist.

Alexander Yap has joined Hong Kong Ballet as a soloist.

Evan McKie has departed Nationwide Ballet of Canada.

Ben Needham-Wooden has been named inventive director of Boulder Ballet.

Cesar G. Salinas has been named affiliate inventive director of Giordano Dance Chicago.

Michelle Preston has been named government director of the José Limón Dance Basis, efficient November 1.

Elizabeth Van Vleck has been named affiliate government director of Bruce Wooden Dance.

Sidra Bell has been named the inaugural artist in residence at Gibney. Alexander Anderson and Jie-Hung Connie Shiau have been named Gibney Firm choreographic fellows for 2022–23.

Jeff Khan will step down from his place as inventive director and CEO of Australia’s Efficiency House on the finish of August to develop into inventive director at Asia TOPA. He’ll proceed at Efficiency House as inventive affiliate/inventive guide till October 31. Vanessa Lloyd has been named CEO.

Awards & Honors

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar acquired the Lillian and Dorothy Gish Prize, which features a money award of roughly $250,000.

Alexandria Wailes and Antoine Hunter are among the many recipients of the Mellon Basis’s 2022 Incapacity Futures Fellowship, which features a $50,000 unrestricted grant.

On the Venice Biennale, Saburo Teshigawara acquired the 2022 Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement in Dance. Rocío Molina acquired the Silver Lion.

Ballethnic Dance Firm and Collage Dance Collective are a part of the inaugural cohort of South Arts’ Southern Cultural Treasures initiative.

The 2022 Princess Grace Award winners within the discipline of dance efficiency and choreography are Mira Nadon, Abdiel Figueroa Reyes, Omar Román De Jesús, Kameron N. Saunders, Jake Tribus and Maleek Washington. Every will obtain a $10,000 unrestricted grant. Eleni Loving and Ashley Simpson acquired honoraria, which features a $1,000 unrestricted award. Former recipients Rashaun Mitchell, Zoe Scofield and Robyn Mineko Williams acquired particular initiatives awards, and Shamel Pitts acquired a works in progress residency award.

Tra Mi Dinh is the recipient of the 2022 Keir Choreographic Award, which features a $50,000 prize, for her The__. Jenni Giant gained the $10,000 Peoples Alternative Award for Moist Onerous.

Michael Bishop, Myrna Packer and Artwork Bridgman, Chrybaby Cozie, DNA, Neil Greenberg, Omar Román De Jesús, Michael Manswell, Sonia Olla, Pat Ghizamboule Robinson, Leonardo Sandoval, Dolly Sfeir and David Thomson have acquired 2022 New York State Council for the Arts/New York Basis for the Arts Artist Fellowships within the discipline of choreography. Every receives a $7,000 unrestricted grant.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments